iPhone Update Failure

After reading the many blog posts, news articles, & talking to fellow iPhone 1.0 owners I hesitated from updating my iPhone software last Friday when Apple first released it. I decided that I’d wait until the weekend after Apple had worked out all the kinks in the upgrade process & all of their servers were fully operational following the many crashes that occurred on launch day.

Unfortunately when I begin the upgrade to the 2.0 software this past weekend I had to stop the upgrade because my laptop hard drive didn’t have enough space to allow for the iPhone to backup. I’ve slowly been deleting & backing up files on my laptop this week so that I could resume the iPhone software update. This afternoon around 6:00 PM I had made enough space available on my hard drive to back up my iPhone & begin the 2.0 software install.

The iPhone update started out OK, but a few minutes into the install I received a phone call on my phone & from that point forward things went down hill. My phone rebooted itself during the restore stage a few times, iTunes locked up on my laptop, etc.

It was more than 2 & half hours ago that I started the install & I’ve finally got a phone that will stop rebooting & isn’t synching or restoring from iTunes. The sad part is that all of my personal settings have been deleted off my phone. My e-mail settings no longer work, my voice mail settings are gone, my photos were duplicated 4 times resulting in over 1,300 photos now on my phone, all of my bookmarks have been deleted, & my stock & weather watches have all been wiped. I’m too frustrated with Apple & the new iPhone software to even consider downloading & testing any new iPhone applications. I’ll be happy when I have my phone restored to its original state prior to the software upgrade.

I thought I was playing it smart & surely all the horror stories I’ve read & been told wouldn’t happen to me. Luckily I’m able to make & receive calls & my contact list hasn’t been destroyed; or so I think…

3 Responses to iPhone Update Failure

  1. […] “iphone software update” Blogs Alert for: "iphone software update" iPhone Update Failure By Brian Kirk I?ve slowly been deleting & backing up files on my laptop this week so that I […]

  2. Brian Kirk says:

    to add to the list of items lost: all of my notes, my Wi-Fi settings, all SMS history, & iTune songs. & to think that i waited to update my phone so i could perform a back up just in case. so much for that back up that was performed.

  3. […] julie wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI’ve slowly been deleting & backing up files on my laptop this week so that I could resume the iPhone software update. This afternoon around 6:00 PM I had made enough space available on my hard drive to back up my iPhone & begin the 2.0 … […]

Leave a Reply

